844-38-GRACE [email protected]

Daily Coping Solutions for COVID-19 #7

Today the focus is to “Name it, to tame it” (Dan Siegel). I found myself with feelings of grief as the world has changed and continues to shift daily. Part of me knows it is temporary and in some ways it doesn’t feel it will return to normal. Understanding the stages of grief and the impact of what we have lost can bring meaning.

  1. Denial: The virus isn’t serious or it won’t effect me.
  2. Anger: I have to stay home and away from friends.
  3. Bargaining: If I stay home and social-distance will I be safe?
  4. Sadness: This will never end.
  5. Acceptance: The virus is real. I will take measures to keep myself and my loved ones safe. I can move forward.

When we can acknowledge our grief today that things are different. We can then strive to find a rhythm with our thoughts. Being mindful not to let ourselves stay with the thoughts that are fearful and negative. Instead embracing thoughts of love, compassion and gratitude. Practice staying in the present by means of meditation, prayer, and mindfulness. Try letting go of the things that we can’t control and focus on the things we can do to stay safe. Love those around you and lend a helping hand to those in need.